Leadership of the AJCA and NAJ

Throughout the history of the Jersey associations, many years of leadership have been served by past Iowa Jersey breeders. They include:

Maurice E. Core, Executive Secretary 1985-1993;

G. Joe Lyon, AJCA President 1969-1972 — NAJ President, 1976-1984

AJCA Board of Directors: W. J. Campbell, Don Egli, Ivan N. Gates, Eric Lyon, Don Metzger, J. J. Richardson, and Hugh G Van Pelt.

NAJ Board of Directors: G. Joe Lyon and Donald Metzger

Youth Achievement Winners Through the Years Since the inception of the National Youth Achievement Contest, Iowa has always been well represented at the national level. Below is a list compiled of the Iowa breeders that have placed in the Top 10 of the contest through the years. Two winners have emerged from Iowa: Robert Lyon, 1967, and Jerry Hatfield, 1980. Congratulations to all.

1966 Seventh 1967 First 1968 Sixth 1970 Sixth 1971 Eighth 1972 Ninth 1976 Third 1979 Eighth 1980 First 1986 Tenth 1991 Tenth 1995 Sixth 2001 Tenth 2002 Fourth	Donnie Egli, Fairfield Barbara Massee, Nashua Robert Lyon, Traer Janice Hatfield, Newton Mark Lyon, Toledo Dennis Cline, Decorah Judy May Hatfield, Newton Jane Rae Hatfield, Newton Jerry Hatfield, Newton Jerry Hatfield, Newton John Metzger, Lester Jason Cline, Decorah Nathan Cline, Decorah Nathan Cline, Decorah Kevin Hatfield, Leon Kevin Cline, Decorah
--	---



Robert Lyon, 1967



Jerry Hatfield, 1980

Recipients of the Young Jersey Breeder Award Below is a list of Iowa breeders that have been recognized with the Young Jersey Breeder award since the first awards were given in 1976.

- 1976 Don Metzger, Larchwood
- 1977 Donnie Egli, Lockrigde
- 1979 David and Donna Kunde, Manchester
- 1985 Dennis and Cheryl Cline, Decorah
- 1986 Kenneth Core, Ackworth
- 1988 Eric and Terry Lyon, Toledo
- 1988 Stuart and Debbie Lyon, Toledo
- 1997 John Maxwell and Patricia Reisener, D
- 2003 Brian and Heidi Lantzky, Hawkeye
- 2005 Dana Metzger, Rock Rapids
- 2007 Jason and Mary Hettinga, Orange City